January 26, 2021

The regular monthly meeting of the Bayou Lafourche Fresh Water District was held on Tuesday, January 26, 2021 at 5:00 p.m. via teleconference.

Present were: Hugh Caffery, Chairman Gene Harrell, Vice-Chairman

Greg Nolan, Secretary/Treasurer

Barry Soudelier

Dale Dennis

Francis Richard

Ray Mayet

Jake Giardina

Scott LeBlanc

Lance Authement

Chris Domangue

Absent were: Donald Schwab

Also present were: Ryan Perque, FOBL; Josh Bordelon; Capt. Jake Stahl, Marine Expertise

Barry Marionneaux, Attorney; Ben Malbrough, Executive Director

Heather Armstrong, Administrative Assistant

Chairman Hugh Caffery began the meeting at 5:00 p.m.

Chairman Hugh Caffery opened the floor for nominations for the slate of officers for 2021.

Commissioner Jake Giardina nominated the current slate of officers for 2021. Chairman Hugh Caffery asked for any other nominations, and there were none. Moved by Commissioner Barry Soudelier, seconded by Commissioner Ray Mayet and unanimously approved to nominate the current slate of officers for 2021.

Moved by Vice-Chairman Gene Harrell, seconded by Commissioner Dale Dennis to dispense with the reading of the minutes, and approve the minutes of December 2020. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Vice-Chairman Gene Harrell, seconded by Commissioner Francis Richard to approve the accounts payable report for January 2021. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Commissioner Ray Mayet, seconded by Commissioner Jake Giardina to approve the finance report for January 2021. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Malbrough reported that the pump station is operating normally.

Mr. Malbrough reported that we were able to open the Saltwater Control Structure in Lockport.

Mr. Malbrough reported that the rest of the bayou is operating normally. He stated there was an attempted theft of a BLFWD boat, that is under investigation.

Vice-Chairman Gene Harrell inquired about the closing of the Donaldsonville Boat Launch. Mr. Malbrough stated it was closed as a safety precaution due to part of the embankment falling into the Bayou. The engineers are working on providing a reason and solution to the problem.

Mr. Malbrough announced preparations for a public hearing in February to revise Ordinance No. 5. If we are unable to meet in person due to restrictions, the meeting will be pushed back until the restrictions are lifted.

Mr. Malbrough discussed the Pump Capacity Improvements Project. We have not received any correspondence back from USACE yet. We are anticipating a response any day now. Once we get a response the mitigation process can begin.

Mr. Malbrough discussed the North Water Control Structure. The Substantial Completion has been filed with the courthouse. Once the clear lien period of 45 day has lapsed, we can complete the final acceptance and release final payment/retainage and close this project.

Mr. Malbrough announced that the Weir Removal Project is making progress. Entergy has moved some powerlines to allow the contractor to start mobilizing. Modifications have begun on the City of Thibodaux's intake pumps. Demolition could start as early as the beginning of March and last until July.

Mr. Malbrough discussed the annual adoption of the resolution for Louisiana Compliance Questionnaire for 2020 audit.

Moved by Commissioner Scott LeBlanc, seconded by Commissioner Ray Mayet to adopt the resolution for the Louisiana Compliance Questionnaire for 2020 audit. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Ryan Perque gave an update on the Friends of Bayou Lafourche as follows:

- Nicholls Bayouside project signed construction agreement
- > CEA for Napoleonville project
- > Discussed progress being made on Raceland Visitor Center project
- Working on St. Charles boat launch agreement
- Delivered 2 floating docks to private applicants

Chairman Hugh Caffery asked for any public comments.

Capt. Jake Stahl thanked Mr. Malbrough for his knowledge on the Derelict Vessel Removal Project that is being shared with others along the River.

Moved by Commissioner Francis Richard, seconded by Commissioner Ray Mayet to adjourn the meeting at 5:42 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

Hugh Caffery, Chairman	Greg Nolan, Secretary/Treasurer